skip to main content

New Jersey Increases Minimum Wage in 2023

New Jersey’s statewide minimum wage increased by $1.13 to $14.13 per hour, effective January 1, 2023.

CWA along with other unions and progressive allies fought for and strongly supported the passage of legislation signed by Governor Murphy in 2019. The law will continue to raise the minimum wage to $15 per hour by 2024.

Before this legislation, the state’s minimum wage was $8.60 per hour. The law will increase the minimum wage by $1 per hour each year – or more depending on the increase in Consumer Price Index (CPI).

This is a critical step in helping working families fight inflation. We continue to fight for an equitable economy that works for all.